The primary responsibility of the Ministry of Energy is to formulate and implement policies, projects and programmes on energy and provide oversight functions across the entire energy supply chain for all sub-sector agencies (which include electricity production, electricity transmission, electricity distribution and supply) and other forms of energy supply and utilisation.
The supply of electricity is the responsibility of the Electricity Distribution and Supply Authority (EDSA) whilst that of generation of electricity is the responsibility of the Electricity Generation and Transmission Company (EGTC).
To create an enabling environment for the provision of modern energy services for increased productivity, wealth creation and improved quality of life for all Sierra Leoneans.
Develop policies and programmes for the provision of energy (electrical and otherwise) in an adequate affordable and sustainable basis to the entire population of Sierra Leone.
The Ministry of Energy is headed politically by the Minister of Energy, Henry O Macauley and deputised by Alhaji Hassan Barrie (Deputy Minister I) and Osmond Hanciles (Deputy Minister II).
The administrative head in the Ministry is the Permanent Secretary, Mrs Zainab Buya-Kamara who is also deputised by Deputy Scretaries Komba Momoh and Emmanuel Junisa. The Ministry also has a Professional wing, the Energy Directorate, which is headed by the Director of Energy, Ing. Benjamin Kamara. You can find the entire structure of the Ministry on the Organogram webpage.
The Ministry has over the years being housed on the fourth floor of the Electricity House, Siaka Stevens Street in Freetown but due to a fire incident, the Ministry has had to relocate to the Stronge Tower at 3 & 3A Pademba Road in Freetown.